Albondigas Soup

It was really cold when I woke up. I decided it was a great day for soup. Initially, I had planned to make a shredded beef stew. When I mentioned to my boyfriend that I had planned on making soup, he interrupted me and said,”Albondigas?” before I could even tell him what I was thinking. I paused for a minute, then said, “sure.” Since I need to get some reading done, I knew it was time to bring out the slow cooker. It was freezing when I went to the grocery store, but by the time I got the whole soup thing going, the sun came out. Ugh. Oh well. This soup is delicious. Just turn on your air conditioner. Whatever.

I will break this recipe down into its two components, the soup and the meatballs. I will provide variations at the end of the recipe.

Sopa

  • Broth (chicken, vegetable or beef)
  • Jar of diced tomatoes
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • Celery, chopped
  • Carrots, sliced
  • Chard, julienned
  • 1 pasilla chile, diced
  • Seasonings to taste: Menudo or pozole mix, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, paprika

Throw everything in the slow cooker. Let it be.

Albondigas

  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • 2 eggs
  • 2-4 Tbsp. almond meal
  • Cilantro
  • Seasonings to taste: Menudo or pozole mix, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, paprika

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Layer a cookie sheet or two with parchment paper (optional).

Mix all ingredients in a large mixing bowl.

Form into meatballs, about 1 inch in diameter. Place on cookie sheet and throw them in the oven.

The meatballs took about 30 minutes to cook. When I pulled them out, they did have a little bit of goop around them (from the fat I think). I just rubbed the meatballs against a paper towel to get that off (it was just unattractive).

Once the meatballs are done, throw them into the broth and allow them to simmer together until you serve it.

Top with sliced avocado, chopped green onion and cilantro.

Dinner’s Done (early, too!)!!!!

Variations: You can cook the meatballs in the slow cooker in the broth. I just wanted the meatballs to have a little more texture. That’s why I baked them. You can also cook them in a hot pan over the stove.

If you’re hosting vegetarian friends, leave the meatballs out of the soup. You’ll end up with a delicious Mexican-style vegetable soup.

For your non-paleo friends/family-Serve the albondiga soup as-is, over steamed rice, or with some tortillas.

About aliwentpaleo

I'm fairly new to wordpress, and writing a blog about Crossfit and my paleo journey. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a grad student, working on my Ph.D. in U.S. History. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez View all posts by aliwentpaleo

2 responses to “Albondigas Soup

  • Cetipple

    This looks and sounds amazing. I’m glad you liked a couple of my instagram photos, which led me to your blog. Excited to try this out. Whenever I try to do paleo Mexican foods it comes out too bland, but I’m sure this recipe will change that.

    • aliwentpaleo

      Thank you! I hope it comes out well and you love it! Menudo/Pozole seasonings are my all-purpose Mexican food seasonings. Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

