Mexican Scramble

This recipe is inspired by the Mexican Scramble at Au Coquelet Cafe/Bakery in Berkeley, CA. I ate that almost every day while I was in Northern California. Though not paleo, it was amazing. I paleo-ified their recipe so I could eat it without the guilt. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Also, if in Berkeley, I highly recommend this place. They make everything in house and use local, organic ingredients whenever possible.

Paleo Mexican Scramble (Serves 2-4)
-Half a yam (or sweet potato), diced
-Half a bell pepper, diced
-Minced green onion and cilantro (about 1/4 cup combined)
-4 eggs
-Seasonings to taste: paprika, chile powder, cumin, pepper, salt
-Fat of choice

There are a few ways to do this. I think this method (roasting yams separately) was the most efficient. You could always cook the yams in the skillet if you want.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Place diced yams or sweet potatoes in a single layer. Generously dust with seasonings and place in oven for 15 minutes. Remove and allow to cool.

20120609-200527.jpg

Meanwhile… In a large skillet not too far away…
Heat your fat of choice. Add bell peppers and sauté. Add green onion and cilantro.

20120609-200750.jpg

Add your yams/sweet potatoes.

20120609-200830.jpg

Add eggs. Scramble.

20120609-200920.jpg

Serve! I topped mine with leftover pico de gallo. Recipe here.

20120609-201301.jpg

Enjoy!!!

About aliwentpaleo

I'm fairly new to wordpress, and writing a blog about Crossfit and my paleo journey. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a grad student, working on my Ph.D. in U.S. History. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez View all posts by aliwentpaleo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

