Blueberry Crumble

Today was an incredibly busy day. Well, maybe not so much, but it felt like it. I began this morning with the olympic lifting class at RCCF then stayed for the metcon then finished off the day with a nice paleo potluck (Thanks again to Matt and Tamara for hosting!)

I wasn’t initially sure what kind of dish to take to the potluck. After my workout, though, I had no interest in going to the store (a recurring theme?) and really just wanted to rest. I decided I would go to the store later. I forgot, however, that I had maintenance coming over to make a few minor repairs–therefore hindering my ability to go to the store. I decided to make a dish with what I had on hand.

I had frozen blueberries. Lots of them. And almond meal. Bingo, blueberry cobbler. I skimmed a few recipes online for paleo blueberry cobbler, but they all had egg. Normally, this wouldn’t have been a problem, but I had just eaten our last eggs with some salsa for lunch. Coupled with my inability to go to the store between the hours of 12pm and 3pm, I knew I had to improvise. Not having the egg necessary for a cobbler, I decided to opt for a lower-maintenance crumble. Enjoy! This tastes like the top of a blueberry muffin without all the extra guilt. This would also go great over some paleo ice cream.

Blueberry Crumble

  • 1 small bag of frozen, unsweetened blueberries (let thaw and drain the excess liquid)
  • About 1/2 to 1 cup of fresh blueberries
  • 1-2 Tbsp. almond butter
  • About 1/8c. – 1/4c. coconut flour
  • About 1/4 c. almond meal
  • About 2 Tbsp. coconut oil or 2 Tbsp. organic, unsalted butter (softened)
  • About 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • About 2 tsp. pure almond extract
  • Lots of cinnamon
  • Drizzle of honey and/or agave nectar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Mix everything except the blueberries into a baking dish. Break down the coconut oil or butter and the almond butter.

Add the blueberries and mix into the almond meal/coconut flour mixture. Add more cinnamon, honey and/or agave if you desire.

Bake for 15-20 minutes. Hard to really say. I pulled mine out just before my blueberries burst.

Dessert’s done!!

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

