Walnut Pesto Chicken Two Ways

I decided to play around in the kitchen today. I love pesto, too bad it’s not paleo. Today I did a play on pesto and made it two different ways to see which way I preferred. Use the pesto as a marinade or over zucchini pasta.

Walnut Pesto Chicken Two Ways
-Chicken breast cutlets and chicken thighs
-About 1 cup raw walnuts
-1 whole bunch of fresh basil
-About 1/4 to 1/2 a bunch of fresh parsley
-2-4 Tablespoons of minced garlic
-1 stalk of green onion
-Half a shallot
-Olive oil
-Seasonings to taste: Italian seasoning, salt and pepper

Throw everything (minus the chicken) with a little bit of olive oil in a blender or food processor. Slowly add more olive oil until it reaches your desired consistency. Check for seasonings.

Pour pesto into a container and add your chicken. Allow to marinade.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. And preheat a grill.

Heat a little fat of choice in an oven-safe pan. Allow the pan to heat thoroughly. Put your chicken thighs in the pan and allow them sear. Flip then throw in the oven to finish off.

While the chicken thighs are in the oven, place the chicken breast cutlets on your grill and finish them there.

Serve with the veggies of your choice. I served mine with grilled eggplant.

20120120-211328.jpg

20120120-211447.jpg

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

