Chicken Zoodle Soup

Hehe. Zoodle. Zucchini noodle. I’m so clever. Just kidding.

Anyway, Danny’s sick-ish. Ergo the soup. This soup is delicious and incredibly easy to adapt for your non-paleo people who actually want noodles instead of zoodles (I will never call zucchini pasta ‘zoodles’ after this post, I swear). I use cooked chicken so I can check on the broth’s flavor along the way.

Chicken Zoodle Soup

-About 1lb of cooked chicken, cut into bite-sized pieces
-1 bell pepper, diced
-1-2 carrots, sliced
-About 3 leaves of collard greens, julienned
-1 onion, diced
-1 large portobello mushroom, diced
-About half of a whole stalk of celery, diced
-3 cloves garlic, minced
-Green onion
-Zucchini, julienned
-Seasonings to taste: Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, dried herbs (or fresh)
-A little bit of your fat of choice, to sauté veggies
-64 oz broth (vegetable or chicken, check ingredients for paleo-ness) I also ended up adding some water.

In a large pot, heat your fat of choice. Slowly add your veggies (add garlic last so it doesn’t burn!). Add some salt, pepper and seasonings (flavor along the way).

Once your veggies are beginning to soften, add your chicken and broth.

Once the broth is heated, check for seasonings.

Place your raw, julienned zucchini in the bowl and pour your warm soup over it (so it doesn’t get mushy or overcooked).

Serve warm!

20120121-191557.jpg

20120121-191700.jpg

20120121-191912.jpg

20120121-192000.jpg

20120121-192034.jpg

Variations: When the broth was properly seasoned, I separated my paleo batch from the main pot and added fusili pasta to Danny’s batch. Just let it cook in the broth.

For vegetarians, use vegetable broth and skip the chicken, or add veggie chicken.

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

