Mushroom Burgers with Spicy Sweet Potato Fries

The paleo challenge has officially ended, so now I’m staying paleo on my own free will. I did have a cheat dinner last night, but I got up today knowing it was back to paleo.

Spicy Sweet Potato Fries
-Sweet Potatoes, peeled and cut into French-Fry strips
-Drizzle of olive oil
-Seasonings to taste: chile powder, cayenne pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Place your cut sweet potatoes in a large mixing bowl. Drizzle with olive oil and season away. Toss so all of your fries are coated with seasoning.

Place in a single layer on a cookie/baking sheet.

Bake until they reach desired crispiness (baking time depends on batch size, so just keep an eye on them). Don’t overcrowd your baking sheet.

20120212-204943.jpg

While the fries were baking, I just seasoned some plain, grassfed beef burgers and portobello mushrooms with a mix of similar seasonings. Grill.

Slice or prepare additional veggies of your choice: lettuce, avocado, tomato, onions (you could even grill the onions!), Anaheim or Poblano chiles, etc. Use your imagination.

Get your grilled portobello burger, top with your beef patty, or patties, and then layer on your veggies. You will need a fork and knife for this burger.

20120212-205407.jpg

20120212-205425.jpg

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

