Grilled Dry Rub Chicken

I know, another chicken recipe… Sigh. I’ve been so busy with school and my new research project. Coupled with the fact that  it’s almost pay day (I only get paid once a month), I have not yet made it to the grocery store (I also find that I am more creative right after pay day. There must be some correlation). Fear not, however, this recipe is part of an upcoming salad recipe that I think you’ll love. Anyway, the joy of this particular recipe is that you can make it on a budget. You should have the seasonings on hand and you can use thawed, previously frozen chicken.

If you wanted to do this another way, you could even cover a whole chicken in the rub, then throw it in the slow cooker (no liquid is necessary).

Grilled Dry Rub Chicken

  • Chicken Breast, or Another Cut, or another type of meat (I used about .75 lb)
  • Seasonings to taste: Chile powder, paprika, cayenne pepper, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, lemon pepper

In a large bowl, generously season your meat (I listed the seasonings in the order of quantity, from greatest to least). Flip over your meat and season the other side. Allow to sit in the dry rub for at least half an hour before grilling.

Grill until thoroughly cooked. I wrapped mine in lettuce and topped with avocado (though not pictured. I was starving. Also, I’m finding that meat in lettuce is my go-to meal).

 

Enjoy! Keep posted. I promise I’ll have more exciting recipes by next week. I’m thinking orange chicken, fried rice, and maybe even beef broccoli.

 

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

