Baked “Fried” Chicken and Garlic Cauliflower Mash

Poor cauliflower. Its cousin broccoli gets all the attention. Initially, I was not a fan of cauliflower masquerading as mashed potatoes. It just wasn’t right. The first time I made this recipe, they didn’t come out well. I didn’t like the taste, I didn’t like the texture, I didn’t like much about them. I decided to give them a shot again, and can happily report that these came out way better this time.

I’ll break this recipe into two parts: the baked chicken, and the cauliflower mash. I trimmed and put my cauliflower to boil before I got my chicken going and everything came out at almost the same time (granted my cauliflower was finished first, but it was no sweat reheating it slightly). Just budget your time. If you’re cooking more chicken than I was cooking (just two breasts), you may want to get your chicken baking before.

Baked “Fried” Chicken (Makes 2 chicken breasts)

  • 2 Chicken Breasts (or thighs, your pick)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • About 4-5 Tbsp. of Coconut Flour
  • Seasonings: Italian Seasoning, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Salt, Pepper, Poultry Seasoning
  • Olive OIl

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Place your beaten egg(s) in a shallow bowl or pan. In another shallow bowl or pan, mix your coconut four and seasonings (add lots, I accidentally poured my Italian seasoning from the wrong opening, thought it was too much, but when I mixed it, it looked perfect). You should be able to see your herbs and seasonings in your flour.

Dip your chicken breasts into the egg, then into the coconut flour. Flip over. Make sure your whole breasts are coated.

Pour a little olive oil into your baking dish. Add your chicken to the oiled baking dish and flip so there is a little oil on both sides.

Bake for about 20-30 minutes (make sure it’s thoroughly cooked). Flip breasts over halfway through.

Cauliflower Mash

  • 1 Head of Cauliflower
  • 1 cup of Vegetable or Chicken Broth
  • About 2 cloves of garlic
  • Seasonings: Salt, pepper

Clean up your cauliflower and get all the little leaves off. Floret your cauliflower and wash (I find it easier to wash once it’s been floret-ed).*To floret, hold cauliflower upside down and cut into it with a pairing knife.

In a medium saucepan, combine your floret-ed cauliflower, the cup of broth and the garlic cloves. Cover and place over medium heat. Allow to simmer long enough for the cauliflower to soften. Mix the cauliflower around about 5-10 minutes into the cooking process.

After the cauliflower has thoroughly softened, transfer some of the the cauliflower, garlic cloves and most of the broth into a blender.

Blend a little at a time, slowly adding more as necessary (you may not need to use all your broth). Add salt and pepper to taste.

 

Enjoy! Dinner’s Done!

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

2 thoughts on “Baked “Fried” Chicken and Garlic Cauliflower Mash”

    1. Thank you! This was the first time the mash came out well for me. And the chicken tenders can make me feel like I’m indulging without getting off my paleo horse =)

Leave a Reply

