Beef Broccoli and Orange Chicken

Dear Readers- Please forgive me for I have sinned!! I am so sorry it’s been such a long time since I last posted. To appease you all, I will provide you with TWO, that’s right, two, dos recipes. I’ve been really busy with my research and driving to UCLA is a huge hassle and time-consumer. Also, last weekend was the department new admit weekend so I was helping introduce prospective Ph.D students to the joys of LA… I also, actually cheated on my paleo diet, too. I’ll be forthcoming- I was starving, didn’t plan appropriately for a day of driving to USC, then the Huntington, then to a professor’s house for dinner. That, and I just didn’t want to be that person. So I indulged for the dinner and have since moved on and have made amends. I am back on paleo, so no worries! It was actually really funny. I have another professor who I apparently make feel guilty because I always have healthy snacks in class. When he asked me about it, I told him about the paleo challenge I was doing with RC Crossfit. When he saw me at the dinner he said, “Alicia, how are you managing? Nothing here is Jurassic.” Hehe.

Anyway, back to he food. And by food, I mean recipes.

Today’s recipes are fairly easy. The orange chicken uses cooked, leftover chicken (though you can certainly use fresh) so it’s great for throwing together in a pinch. Feel free to serve with my paleo fried rice recipe. I just served mine over plain, steamed cauliflower.

Paleo Orange Chicken
-16 oz. cooked chicken, diced or cut into strips
-juice and zest from 2 oranges
-green onion, chopped
-cilantro, chopped
-prepped veggies of choice (I used fresh, prepped broccoli, carrots and mushrooms in a bag from Fresh and Easy)
-seasonings to taste: ground ginger, garlic powder, onion powder, chile flakes
-apple cider vinegar (optional)
-gluten free soy sauce or coconut aminos
-fat of choice

In a large pan or wok, heat your fat of choice, and add your veggies. Once they start to get some color, add your gluten free soy sauce (or coconut aminos), orange juice and chicken. Allow to reduce. Add green onions and check for seasonings (i.e. add them). I used the apple cider vinegar to cut some of the saltiness. You may not find it necessary. Toss with cilantro before serving.

Beef Broccoli

-London Broil, cut into strips (about 1.5 lbs)
-Broccoli and other veggies if you want
-Gluten free soy sauce or coconut aminos
-Apple cider vinegar
-Honey
-Green onion, chopped
-Seasonings to taste: chile flakes, garlic powder, ground ginger, onion powder
-Fat of choice

Ok, for this one there is some math. I’ve determined that the sauce tastes best when you have equal parts of honey and apple cider vinegar, and half a part of gluten free soy sauce or coconut aminos. Go that?

So, put all your meat in a bowl then allow it to marinade with your liquids. For example, 1/2 c. apple cider vinegar + 1/2 c. honey + 1/4 c. gluten free soy sauce or coconut aminos. Now do you get it? I would start with this amount then move from there, keeping your proportions in mind. Allow meat to marinade with liquids and a fairly generous helping of your seasonings.

After it’s marinated, heat your fat of choice in a large pan or wok, then add your meat with all the liquids. Add your veggies after the liquids have started to reduce. Cook thoroughly, check for seasonings.

Serve over plain, steamed cauliflower, or my cauliflower fried rice!

20120307-182255.jpg

20120307-182310.jpg

20120307-182326.jpg

20120307-182359.jpg

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

