Semi-Homemade Cilantro Lime Chicken

When I was at Sprouts the other day, I came across this package of shredded chicken in the meat section. Normally, I wouldn’t bother, but since it was essentially chicken breast, garlic powder, onion powder, and salt, I decided to give it a try.

Cilantro Lime Chicken
-16 oz of shredded chicken
-Juice from 2 limes (or one lemon and one lime)
-Cilantro, trimmed
-Garlic powder, onion powder, chile powder, paprika, cayenne pepper
-Green salsa (optional, I like Trader Joe’s green salsa)
-Fat of choice

20120313-073822.jpg

Too simple. Throw everything in a pan and heat through. I added green salsa to mine while in the pan since it seemed a little dry.

20120313-074019.jpg

Variations
Don’t have the package of shredded chicken? Bake in the oven or use your slow cooker. Just make sure your raw chicken is thoroughly seasoned before placing in the oven or slow cooker. You can shred the chicken later (if you want).

I made mine into a simple salad with some salsa “dressing”

20120313-074057.jpg

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

