Cilantro-Lime Chicken Soup

Sorry for posting this so late. I made this recipe the day after I made the Semi-Homemade Cilantro Lime Chicken, but I started writing my paper and have been unable to blog. So I apologize for my tardiness. Here’s a simple, quick way to use up your leftover chicken.

Cilantro Lime Chicken Soup
-About one cup of leftover chicken (I used my leftover shredded cilantro lime chicken)
-About one cup of chard, julienned
-One can of diced green chiles
-1-2 small carrots, diced
-About 2-3 cups of vegetable or chicken broth
-Lime juice (optional)
-Cilantro (optional)
-Fat of choice
-Seasonings to taste: garlic powder, onion powder, lemon pepper, salt

Heat some of your fat of choice in a pot. Add your chicken, carrots, chard and chiles.

20120317-121143.jpg

Add broth and allow to heat thoroughly. Check for seasonings and add additional like juice or cilantro to taste.

20120317-121311.jpg

Enjoy! Dinner’s done and leftovers have been put to use!

Variations
You can use any kind of leftover chicken. It does not have to be the cilantro lime chicken. Conversely, you can use fresh, raw chicken. Just cut it into bite sized chunks and season it well, with garlic powder, onion powder and lemon pepper.

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

2 thoughts on “Cilantro-Lime Chicken Soup”

Leave a Reply

