Don’t Know What to Call It Soup

It was raining so hard yesterday! I did not want to leave home for anything. It was so cold. The weather warranted a delicious bowl of soup. I honestly have no idea what to call this soup. It’s almost a cross between a chili and some kind of stew. Either way, it’s like a hug for your tummy. Enjoy.

Don’t-Know-What-To-Call-It Soup (This makes a lot more than the photos suggest. I split the batch in half to make Danny’s not-paleo. This recipe will make a big pot)
– About 2 lbs of meat, cut into bite-sized chunks (I used carne asada from the grocery store. You can also use ground beef, or even ground turkey I suppose)
-1 bell pepper, diced
-1 onion, diced
-1 pasilla chile, diced
-1 anaheim chile, diced
-1 can diced green chile
-2 garlic cloves, minced
-Minced green onion and cilantro (for topping)
-About 4 Tbsp tomato paste
-1 large can of diced tomatoes, drained
-2 small cans of tomato sauce
-About 4 cups of broth or stock (I used vegetable broth for my batch and beef stock for Danny’s)
-Seasonings to taste: pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, chile powder, ground cumin, salt, menudo or pozole seasoning
-Fat of choice

Prep all your veggies first. It’ll make life easier. I think.

20120318-123341.jpg

20120318-123438.jpg

Prep your meat if it needs to be cut into smaller bits.

20120318-123521.jpg

In a large pot, heat your fat of choice and add your veggies.

20120318-123558.jpg

Add meat and allow to cook.

20120318-123636.jpg

Add tomato paste, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, broth or stock, and your seasonings. Allow to simmer.

20120318-123727.jpg

Check for seasonings before serving. Top with cilantro, green onion and avocado. Enjoy!

20120318-123817.jpg

Variations
-Use different kinds of meat if you wish.
-For non-paleo people- I add corn and black beans when I make this for others, sometimes. You can also top with grated cheese.
-Slow cooker: throw everything in your slow cooker and come home to a delicious ready-made soup!

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

