Paleo Lemon Custard (I’m baaaaaaack!!)

The semester is over (well, the stack of papers on my desk that need to be graded may beg to differ)!!! I’m so sorry for not posting in a while. I’ve been so busy with my research, though (good news), I may have found out my dissertation topic. It’s starting to get HOT here in Southern California, so for my first recipe back, I’ve decided to share a super creamy, light, and fresh summery dessert (it’s also SUPER simple). Enjoy!

;

Paleo Lemon Custard (Flan)- Makes 4

  • 1 13.5 ounce can of coconut milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of light agave nectar
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract
  • Zest of one whole lemon
  • Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix with a hand mixer.

Pour mixture into ramekins. Place ramekins in a baking dish and pour water around the ramekins (to keep them moist).

Bake for 30-45 minutes, until the center is set.

Pull ramekins out of the oven and allow to cool. Keep in refrigerator until you decide to eat.

The custard, right out of the oven, before cooling in the fridge.

;

I did a lot of cooking while I was out, expect another post soon! It’s nice to be back!

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

2 thoughts on “Paleo Lemon Custard (I’m baaaaaaack!!)”

    1. Ted, it definitely feels good to be back. I’m so excited. I’ll be posting with vigor. Well, the research I’m doing right now that I think will segue into my diss is on hospital segregation in post-World War 2 Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

