Sides and Snacks

I was planning to share a stuffed bell pepper recipe yesterday, but I’ve opted for something simpler (for my own sake). Next week I will be in Northern California for some research and I was so busy taking care of last minute stuff. I’ll share two simple sides with you today: Lemon broccoli with shallots, and fruit salad.

I’ll start with the fruit salad. During the summer, I don’t have much of an appetite, and I don’t care for much cooking that involves heat (unless it’s outdoor grilling). As a result, during the summer, I like to prepare a fruit salad on Friday nights and then munch on it all weekend. It’s a quick snack and since it’s already made, just serve and enjoy!

Fruit Salad
(Only suggestions! You can add or eliminate fruits to suit the tastes of your guests, just cut everything into roughly the same size chunks)
-Half a baby, seedless watermelon, cut into chunks
-1 whole pineapple, cut into cubes
-1 granny smith apple, diced
-1 gala apple, diced
-1 cup sliced strawberries
-Handful of raspberries
-Juice from half a lemon

Throw all ingredients into a storage bowl or a serving bowl and mix. Drizzle with lemon juice to prevent apples from turning brown.

20120519-074041.jpg

I know some people like their fruit salad with some kind of creamy sauce. Here’s a simple one:

-Cream from one can of coconut milk
-Zest from a whole lemon
-Drizzle of honey (optional)

Mix all ingredients and serve over your fruit salad.

Lemon Broccoli with Shallots
-2 medium broccoli crowns, cut into florets
-1 shallot, sliced thinly
-Juice and zest from one lemon
-Sea salt, pepper
-Fat of choice

Heat your fat of choice in a large skillet or wok. Add shallots and allow to caramelize.

20120519-074825.jpg
(Excuse the not-so-great picture)

Add broccoli, lemon zest, and lemon juice. Heat until broccoli is slightly tender, but still has a bite to it. Add salt and pepper to taste.

20120519-075020.jpg

This broccoli dish would go wonderfully with steak, chicken, or shrimp. Enjoy!

Broccoli Variations
-Mix all ingredients, place on a cookie sheet, and roast in the oven at 400 degrees F.

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

