Grilled Tri Tip Roast

Well, I’m back from my trip to Berkeley. It was a really long week, but I’m glad to be home.

Today’s recipe is another homage to the grill. It takes a little while to cook the whole roast, but if you’re short on time, you can use cut steaks.

Before I had the opportunity to put the meat on the grill, I had a little incident involving the marinade spilling all over my kitchen floor. I usually brush my marinade over he meat while grilling, so I had to improvise another marinade I wasn’t planning on making. I will give you both options.

Grilled Tri Tip Roast
-Tri Tip Roast or steak (about 2.5 lbs)
-1 shallot
– 2-3 cloves of garlic
– 2/3 cup of apple cider vinegar
– 4.5 cups of apple juice (check ingredients)
– 1 Tbsp. each of chile powder, paprika, red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper
-Sea salt to taste
-1 Tbsp agave nectar (optional)
-About 1 tsp of your cooking fat of choice

Plan B Glaze
*I was dealing with leftover ingredients, so no measurements!
-Agave Nectar
-Apple Cider Vinegar
-Garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, chile powder, red pepper flakes, pepper, sea salt

20120528-124539.jpg

Ok, using the first list of ingredients:
Heat your fat of choice in a saucepan over low-medium heat. Add your shallots and garlic.

20120528-124734.jpg

Add the rest of the ingredients and allow them to meld.

20120528-124832.jpg

My marinade didn’t reduce very much (I’m also not that patient), but I wanted my flavors to develop a little before I put the meat in there. Pull marinade off the heat and allow to cool.

Once cool, add meat and allow it to absorb the awesomeness.

20120528-125028.jpg

Now, somewhere after marinating my meat and before grilling it, my marinade ended up all over my kitchen floor.

If you’re so lucky that your marinade doesn’t end up on your floor, feel free to use the broth to baste your meat while grilling. If your marinade also ended up on the floor, or you would like a thicker glaze, whisk together all the ingredients in my Plan B Glaze.

Commence grilling.

20120528-125306.jpg

I like my meat well done. Adjust your cooking time depending on your preference for done-ness. This took about an hour (mostly on indirect heat).

Brush with broth or marinade if you wish.

Once your meat is done, pull off meat and allow to rest before cutting (so it doesn’t dry out).

20120528-125526.jpg

Once the meat is well-rested, slice and serve with salad or grilled veggies (I did grilled eggplant and lemon-roasted asparagus).

Enjoy!!

20120528-125830.jpg

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

5 thoughts on “Grilled Tri Tip Roast”

    1. Thanks, Ted! I just got introduced to tri tip and it’s my new favorite. Glad to be back at the box! You did great today!

Leave a Reply

