Turkey-Cucumber Roll Ups

I almost feel like I’m cheating. I’m giving you a recipe for something that requires absolutely no cooking whatsoever. It’s simply assembly.

Now, these taste best fresh. I would advise against making these too far in advance. They may get soggy if they sit.

This is a small recipe. It will make 6 little rolls. The cucumber will yield more slices, but I was just making enough for myself. Adjust as necessary.

Turkey Cucumber Roll Ups
Peeled Cucumber Slices (using a vegetable peeler, take off cucumber skin, then continue to peel the cucumber around the seeded middle)
3 slices of real, unprocessed deli meat (I used turkey)
Half a tomato, diced
Shredded carrot
Shredded lettuce
Paleo mayo (optional)
Toothpicks

20120604-142150.jpg

Arrange cucumber slices on a flexible cutting board or piece of parchment paper. Layer meat on top of it.

20120604-142252.jpg

20120604-142325.jpg

Add your vegetables in a thin line. If you want to add paleo mayo, add it now.

20120604-142444.jpg

Lift up the edge of the cutting board or parchment paper to help you fold the roll onto itself.

20120604-142603.jpg

Roll tightly.

20120604-142630.jpg

Insert a toothpick in the center of each cucumber slice.

20120604-142709.jpg

Using a paring knife or a serrated knife, slice between each cucumber slice. Serve and enjoy!!

20120604-142803.jpg

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

24 thoughts on “Turkey-Cucumber Roll Ups”

  1. Yours are beautiful! I just tried this and ended up with a salad in a bowl 🙂 My peeler is much too thin of a cut, and my knife skills must not be what I thought they were, I just thought… I probably should have blotted the cucumber and meat. Also probably put too many veg in, I have this same problem with burritos. Anyway, thanks for the idea!

  2. These look amazing, so I was wondering if you could tell me the tool you used or send a picture of the tool that was used to make the cucumber slices. I have tried with a regular peeler but it hasn’t worked out. Thanks

  3. I used my vegetable peeler to obtain thin slices of zucchini. Then, before I laid down the zucchini slices, I placed a thin slice of turkey and folded it over the top of the slices. I proceeded with the normal layering. The folded turkey slice allowed an easier start to the rollong process. Would definitely do this again.

Leave a Reply

