Chocolate Coconut Cookies

I will be the first to tell you that I am not a baker. I think that gene skipped me. As much as I love to cook, baking is a completely separate demon that often leaves me in a state of frustration. Either way, on occasion, I do get an itch that only baking can scratch. This is what I threw together using what was in my cupboard.

Chocolate Coconut Cookies
Wet ingredients
-1 can coconut milk
-1 nasty banana, mashed
-2 eggs
-1 teaspoon each of vanilla and almond extract
-1/4 cup agave nectar (use more if your sweet tooth is having one of those days)

Dry ingredients
-1 3/4 tsp baking soda
-1 1/4 c. dried, unsweetened coconut flakes
-4 1/4 c. almond meal
-1/4 c +2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
-1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a cookie sheet (or 2) with parchment paper.

In one bowl, mix all your wet ingredients together. In another bowl, mix all your dry ingredients together.

20120608-101007.jpg

Slowly add dry ingredients into wet. Mix well.

20120608-101112.jpg

Once your dough is mixed, spoon mixture onto prepared cookie sheets.

20120608-101334.jpg

Bake for 8-12 minutes. Cookies will be very moist and cakey. I haven’t tried it, but it would probably work well as muffins. Top with coconut cream if you wish.

20120608-101520.jpg

Yes, they might look like poo, but they don’t taste like it!

=)

Enjoy!

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

