Spicy Stuffed Zucchini

My kitchen is done! I’m so relieved. Luckily, it was only 48 hours. I can’t imagine having to wait for a major kitchen renovation. While my kitchen was inaccessible, I ate a leftover frittata that I portioned out with some baked sweet potato fries, and I bought some salads in order to keep it paleo.

The whole time I was unable to cook, this giant sucker was taunting me in the fridge.

20120615-063945.jpg

Today’s recipe was an effort to shut this guy up. Hehe. This recipe is a modification of a modified recipe. Now, two weeks ago (or so), we had a paleo potluck at our gym, and Nicole, one of the ladies at RCCF, brought in these delicious little zucchini boats. She got the recipe from fastpaleo.com and made a few modifications (original recipe here).

The stuffed zucchini recipe I’m sharing today incorporates some of Nicole’s modifications and a few of my own. Hope you love it!

Spicy Stuffed Zucchini
1 giant zucchini, or about 4 small/medium zucchini
2 strips of bacon (turkey or otherwise), chopped
1lb. ground beef (or turkey)
1 bell pepper, finely diced
1 pasilla chile, finely diced
1 tomato, diced
Green onion (bulb and stem), minced
1 bunch of cilantro, minced
6 oz. of tomato paste
Paprika, cumin, chile powder, dried oregano, red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, ground garlic, ground onion, pepper, sea salt (to taste)
Fat of choice

Ok, preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut your zucchini(s) in half lengthwise.

20120615-064923.jpg

Using a spoon, seed them to create a cavity for your filling. Reserve half of the seeded zucchini and chop.

20120615-065200.jpg

Add a little fat of choice to your zucchini and roast in the oven for 10-15 minutes.

Meanwhile, make sure your veggies are prepped so we can move on to the stuffing (I minced the cilantro after I took this picture).

20120615-065437.jpg

In a large sauté pan or wok, heat your bacon.

20120615-065618.jpg

Once it has begun to cook down, add veggies (if your bacon does not give off enough fat, you may need to add some more to sauté your veggies).

20120615-065730.jpg

Sauté. Add beef (or ground turkey) and break up.

20120615-065853.jpg

Add tomato paste and seasonings to mixture.

20120615-070625.jpg

Remove zucchini from the oven (if you haven’t already). Stuff with filling. Serve immediately, or put it back in the oven to keep it warm before serving (lower oven temp!).

20120615-070719.jpg

20120615-070830.jpg

Dinner’s done! Just slice, serve, and enjoy !

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

One thought on “Spicy Stuffed Zucchini”

Leave a Reply

