Spicy Cherry BBQ Sauce

This is an easy barbecue sauce that will add a kick to your meat. I put this over some simply seasoned chicken breast and grilled it.

Spicy Cherry BBQ Sauce
1 cup of fresh, pitted cherries
1/2 cup water
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 tsp agave nectar (optional)
1/2 shallot
Liberal seasonings: red pepper flakes, granulated onion, granulated garlic, paprika, chile powder, dried oregano, pepper, sea salt
Small pinch of ground cloves, ground cinnamon

In a medium saucepan combine cherries, water and shallots. Bring to a boil.

20120620-190223.jpg

20120620-190245.jpg

Reduce. Pour mixture into a blender. Blend until smooth. Return to saucepan.

20120620-190358.jpg

Place over low heat. Add cider vinegar, agave, herbs, and seasonings.

Remove from heat.

20120620-190510.jpg

Set aside or use immediately.

20120620-190539.jpg

20120620-190604.jpg

I brushed mine over chicken while grilling.

Enjoy!

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

2 thoughts on “Spicy Cherry BBQ Sauce”

  1. I am so excited to have found your blog! My husband and I are just embarking on our paleo journey– I’m looking forward to browsing all your delicious looking recipes!

    1. Stacy, congratulations on starting your own paleo journey. I wish you the best of luck. I hope you like the blog. Browse the recipes, and feel free to ask any questions you may have!!

Leave a Reply

