Yam, Spinach, Arugula, and Sausage Frittata

Sorry for the delay in posting! I’ve been really busy with my research this past week.

Today’s recipe happened after yesterday’s workout. It was a good workout, I was hungry, needed to shower, get presentable, and head to LA before my self-imposed 11am deadline. Having less than an hour to go, I decided a quick oven-prepared frittata would allow me to multitask.

If I assembled the frittata and put it in the oven, by the time I got showered and ready, I figured it would be cooked. My major dilemma was that I wanted yams, but didn’t have the time to cook them like I normally do. I figured if I peeled them into super thin slices, they would cook in the oven.

And what do you know? I was right. So cheers to multitasking and this frittata easily makes three servings that you can pack in advance.

(Warning: I do not encourage leaving your oven operating unattended in all circumstances. Be cognizant of your surroundings, particularly little children…)

Yam, Spinach, Arugula, and Sausage Frittata

1/2 yam, peeled (after peeling the skin off, just continue to take the vegetable peeler to the yam)
About 1 cup- a cup and a half of mixed spinach and arugula
1 large sausage, cut or diced (I would recommend a slightly sweet sausage like a chicken and apple or a slightly spicy sausage)
6 eggs, beaten
Seasonings to taste: pepper, cumin, chile powder, paprika, granulated onion and garlic
Fat of choice

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Prep your yam.

20120629-095116.jpg

Grease an oven-safe pan and place your slices of yam in a thin layer in the pan and up the sides just a little.

20120629-095207.jpg

Add your seasonings to taste (Can you tell I love spicy yams??). Then add your layer of spinach and arugula.

20120629-095322.jpg

Add sausage.

20120629-095402.jpg

Pour your beaten eggs over the mixture.

20120629-095451.jpg

I had a little leftover yam, so I added it on top (not pictured).

Place in preheated oven. Take a shower. Or just wait. Your choice. It’ll be between 20-30 minutes for your frittata to be cooked (when the center is no longer runny).

20120629-095633.jpg

Remove for oven, slice, serve, or portion into three meals. I love frittatas for that very reason!!

20120629-095807.jpg

Have a great weekend, and thanks for your patience!!

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

