Banana Crepes

Hi All!

These past couple of weeks have flown by. I’m still researching pretty regularly at the Huntington Library, but I’ve moved away from salads and towards fajitas. You’d be surprised how well they transport.

I have also been busy with making practice cakes (not paleo) for my niece’s upcoming birthday! She wants a hippo party, and my initial attempt at creating a cake in the shape of a hippo didn’t go quite as well as I had hoped. Regardless, I think the decorations are coming along.

Lastly, before I give you my banana crepe recipe, I will be competing in my very first CF competition this Saturday! I am doing a scaled division, but I’m kind of excited, so wish me luck.

Here’s a recipe for banana crepes. The first few I made forced me to lose a couple brave crepe souls, but I was able to get the last three to work! Good luck. Be patient.

Banana Crepes
Crepes:
4 eggs
1 cup + 2 Tbsp of Coconut Milk
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
3 Tbsp coconut flour
Fat of choice

Filling:
3-5 bananas, sliced (I used three, but if you don’t mess up in your crepes like I did, you may need more bananas to make up your filling)
2 Tbsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp ground cinnamon
1 Tbsp honey or agave nectar (optional)
About 1/4 c coconut milk (optional)
Fat of choice

In a mixing bowl, combine all of the crepe batter ingredients except for the fat of choice. It should create a thin batter.

In a sauté pan, heat your fat of choice. Once your pan is sufficiently hot, use either a ladle or a measuring cup to spoon the mixture into your hot pan.

You just want a thin layer of batter, so ladle it on thinly, or even swirl your pan a bit.

While you may get away with not flipping these, I had to. The batter wasn’t as thin as a non-paleo crepe. Here was the source of my frustration.

First attempt

20120730-065305.jpg

20120730-065342.jpg

2nd attempt

20120730-065549.jpg

20120730-065607.jpg

3rd attempt. No photo of batter, but we finally have crepe success!!

20120730-065651.jpg

And it wasn’t just a fluke, either.

20120730-065730.jpg

Continue with your batter until it’s gone.

Set finished crepes aside.

Onto the filling.

Using another sauté pan, heat your fat of choice.

Add bananas and the other filling ingredients except coconut milk.

20120730-065948.jpg

Heat through and add filling to crepes.

20120730-070110.jpg

Optional step: add coconut milk to any remnants in your filling pan. Heat through (add more cinnamon or sweetener if you’d like) then drizzle over your filled crepe.

20120730-070232.jpg

Good luck!!

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

5 thoughts on “Banana Crepes”

Leave a Reply

