Paleo Primavera

My name for this dish is probably a misnomer. It is not spring, nor is the sauce a traditionally light or cream primavera sauce. Regardless, the focus of this dish is the multitude of textures and flavors that the vegetables provide. Call it whatever you want. I’ll call it delicious.

Sauce: (this sauce is very vegetably! Use less if you don’t like that, or if you have picky eaters)
About half a stalk of celery, diced
4 mushrooms, sliced
About a cup of carrot “chips” (carrots cut to look like coins)
1 small to medium onion, diced
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
About 1 cup of diced tomatoes (packaged or fresh)
About 2 cups of tomato sauce
4 Tbsp tomato paste
About 1/4 lb ground beef (or other meat of choice)
Seasonings to taste: Italian seasonings, pepper, ground onion, ground garlic, sea salt
Fat of choice (optional depending on fat content of your meat)

If using an additional cooking fat (you have a super lean meat), heat your fat in a large pan or pot. Add prepped vegetables.

20120823-070705.jpg

20120823-070725.jpg

Sauté. Add meat. If you were not using an extra cooking fat, cook meat with vegetables all at once.

20120823-070917.jpg

Season liberally. Add diced tomatoes and proceed to add the tomato sauce and tomato paste.

20120823-071016.jpg

Mix well and season as you go on.

20120823-071047.jpg

Allow sauce to simmer while you move on.

Zucchini pasta:
2 large zucchini
A julienne peeler

Take your peeler to your zucchini. Very simple. If you don’t have a julienne peeler, just use your vegetable peeler. The noodles will look more like elegant little ribbons than spaghetti.

20120823-071307.jpg

Optional step: heat up zucchini in pan with a little fat. I prefer my zucchini raw, now. It has a more al dente texture.

Wrap it up:
Pour your simmering sauce over your zucchini noodles!

20120823-071459.jpg

Enjoy!

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

3 thoughts on “Paleo Primavera”

    1. Actually, I can protect a recipe when it is more than a description of ingredients. Furthermore, I can protect all original authorship on my website. You can check http://www.copyright.gov/help/faq/faq-protect.html for more information.

      Lastly, your comment is moot since responsible people should know that the respectable and decent thing to do is to give credit when/where credit is due–especially when using someone else’s work/material.

      1. I’m not sure with what tone you expected me to read your comment, but I am not making a profit off these recipes, and I don’t mind if people post or share them so long as they indicate the source.

        Best, Alicia

Leave a Reply

