Spaghetti Squash Lo Mein

I’m not a huge fan of Asian food. Supposedly, when my mother was expecting me, she got cravings for this one dish–Buddha’s Cushion–from a local Chinese place all the time. My theory is that she overdid it 🙂 Regardless, before I knew about paleo, there was this one local place that had great Chow Mein that I could have eaten all the time. It just had noodles, cabbage and onion, and a really peppery flavor. 

That chow mein was my point of reference and I used my recollection of it to make this dish. The seasonings are estimates, as always, adjust to your family’s own personal preferences. This is peppery, so you may want to tone it down.

Ingredients:

2lb spaghetti squash 

Asian chopped salad kit (I used Taylor Farms and tossed the dressing, or about 10oz of a mix of cabbage, cilantro, celery, green onions)

1/2 sliced yellow onion

1 Tbsp cooking fat of choice

Seasonings: ground ginger, granulated garlic, granulated onion, paprika, ground black pepper, chile flakes, chili powder, sea salt, coconut aminos (or gluten-free soy sauce)

1. Preheat your oven to 350 F.

2. Slice your spaghetti squash in half lengthwise. Remove seeds. Sprinkle black pepper inside. Bake cut side down for about 30 min and allow to cool. It should be a little al dente still. 

3. Prep veggies (slice onions and others if you didn’t buy a package)

4. When spaghetti squash is cool enough to handle, take a fork to it and make spaghetti squash strands. Set aside. 

5. Heat your cooking fat. Add onions. Sauté onions. Add about a teaspoon of each seasoning to start. Add the rest of the veggies (not the spaghetti squash yet).

6. Continue sautéing until veggies are mostly translucent. Add more seasonings and your cooked, shredded spaghetti squash. 

7. Continue sautéing and check seasonings one last time. Finish with a splash of coconut aminos. 
Enjoy 🙂 Serve with your protein of choice. We had ours with beef broccoli. 
   
 

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash Lo Mein”

Leave a Reply

