Balsamic Brussel Sprouts

I will preface this recipe by saying that these brussel sprouts are peppery. Like very peppery. If that’s not your thing, start with 1 teaspoon of pepper. You can always add more, but once it’s been added, there’s little you can do. 

1 tbsp bacon fat (or cooking fat of choice)

2 lbs brussel sprouts, trimmed and halved

1 tbsp pepper

1 tsp sea salt (plus more to taste if necessary

1/2 tsp each granulated onion, granulated garlic

3 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Prep your brussel sprouts.

  
Heat 1/2 the cooking fat in a pan (I accidently used it all at once, but you should split it. Do as I say, not as I did).

  
Add your prepped brussel sprouts and sprinkle with sea salt and pepper.

  
Allow to heat over low-medium heat for a few minutes. Do not disturb.
When the brussels at the bottom start to brown, stir them around and redistribute. Add the remaining cooking fat. 

  
Let sit for a few more minutes. 

Deglaze with balsamic vinegar and turn off heat. 

Let brussels sit for a minute, then check flavor and adjust seasonings to taste. 

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

