al fresco chicken pasta

Sorry it’s been so long. I defended my dissertation yesterday and haven’t done much in the way of recipe development. 
Here is s recipe I threw together as meal prep for four lunches.

This recipe is gluten free but not 100% paleo because of the garbanzo beans, garbanzo bean pasta, and if you want to be technical, a small amount of sugar in the sausage. 

That being said, you could easily substitute spaghetti squash, zucchini noodles, or more compliant sausage. 

Ingredients:

1 package al fresco roasted garlic chicken sausage, sliced or diced 

8 oz pasta of choice (I used Banza penne, you could use zucchini noodles, shirataki noodles, or spaghetti squash)

3 roma tomatoes, diced

1 roasted bell pepper, diced

1 medium shallot, minced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1- 15oz can of garbanzo beans

About 1 cup chicken broth

Handful of freshly minced parsley

Zest and juice from 1 lemon

Salt and pepper to taste
  

Get a pot, fill with water and set to boil (for pasta). Don’t forget to salt. If you’re baking or microwaving spaghetti squash, get that going. 

In a large pan, brown your sausage. 

  
Remove and set aside. 

Using the same pan, let the diced tomato, garlic, and shallot simmer together. 

  

Season with salt and pepper to taste. Add roasted bell pepper.

  
Check your boiling water. Add your pasta if it’s ready. 

Ok, back to veggies. Add sausage, chicken broth, and garbanzo beans. 

  

Check seasonings and let simmer. 

Check your pasta. Drain if ready. 

I did this for a meal prep, so I divided out the pasta in my containers. 

  

Just before taking off the heat, zest and juice your lemon into the veggie/sausage mixture. 

Either toss with your pasta, or parcel it out like I did. Add in fresh parsley. 

 
Approximate macros (based on 4 servings): 476 cal; 36 g protein, 65 g carbs, 12 g fat per serving.*

*These macros are based on these ingredients. Spaghetti squash and zucchini noodle versions would have less carbs and slightly less protein.  

Published by

aliwentpaleo

My name is Ali. I love food and cooking, but I am also incredibly busy. I'm a Certified Personal Trainer, as well as a Doctoral Candidate in the History Department at USC. Follow me if you'd like some of my paleo culinary creations! All recipes property of Alicia Gutierrez-Romine

Leave a Reply

